Select Page


Bernie’s Book Bank is proud to be the beneficiary of the Patrick Mannelly Award

Bernie’s Book Bank is the beneficiary and charity partner for the Patrick Mannelly Award, celebrating the best college Long Snappers in the country. 

With shared values of excellence, integrity, effectiveness, teamwork and balance, both the Patrick Mannelly Award and Bernie’s Book Bank aim for the award to be recognized by the National College Football Awards Association, who recognizes 25 awards on an annual basis. Recognition will not only acknowledge the incredible college Long Snappers, but it will also provide an opportunity for national awareness of Bernie’s Book Bank, which has the potential to benefit so many children.

The 5th Annual Patrick Mannelly Award Dinner and Award Presentation will be held at Bernie’s Book Bank on December 9, 2023! Guests will enjoy dinner, drinks and a lively discussion with ESPN Chicago’s David Kaplan and other special guests. We hope you will join us! Stay tuned for ticket updates. For sponsorship inquiries, please contact our Director of Development, Nikki Bonamarte.


The Patrick Mannelly Long Snapper Award shines a bright light on this unnoticed but essential position in football and provides rare recognition for the impactful role they play in today’s game.

Bernie’s Book Bank is proud to be the beneficiary of this prestigious award. Our mission to source, process and distribute quality children’s books to increase book ownership among children, with excellence and integrity, makes Bernie’s Book Bank the perfect teammate for the Long Snapper.

The inaugural Patrick Mannelly Award Dinner was December 14, 2019 at Bernie’s Book Bank. The 2020 Patrick Mannelly Award ceremony was streamed live on January 9, 2021 from Bernie’s Book Bank in Lake Bluff, IL. Missed it? Watch on YouTube The third annual Patrick Mannelly Award Ceremony was December 11, 2021 at Bernie’s Book Bank and on live-stream. Watch a recording of the ceremony on YouTube.

Watch the 2022 Patrick Mannelly Award Below



Chris Stoll, Penn State

Finalists: Matt Hembrough, Oklahoma State USC & Alex Ward, UCF


Cal Adomitis, Pittsburgh

Finalists: Damon Johnson, USC & Alex Ward, UCF


Thomas Fletcher, Alabama

Finalists: Damon Johnson, USC & Ryan Langan, Georgia Southern


John Shannon, Notre Dame

Finalists: Liam McCullough, Ohio State & Steven Wirtel, Iowa State


2023 DATES

 Watchlist: July 31st

Semi-Finalists: November 13th

Finalists: November 27th

Award Ceremony: Saturday, December 9th

More Information


Highlighting 65 high school athletes who exhibit the unsung hero values of a Long Snapper.

In conjunction with the Patrick Mannelly Award and in honor of the number Mannelly wore as a member of the Chicago Bears, the 65 Honor Roll recognizes exemplary high school athletes across Chicagoland. The 65 Honor Roll recognizes athletes who consistently exemplify the following values: Excellence, Integrity, Effectiveness, Teamwork, and Balance.

2022 #65 Honor Roll:
Ryan Algrim, Kaneland High School
Sarah Ball, Willowbrook High School
Ethan Bode, Sycamore High School
Thomas Burton, Cary – Grove High School
Emily Cantor, Waukegan High School
Caden Casimino, Crystal Lake South High School
Danny French, St. Francis High School
Luke Granzow, Hobart High School
Walker Himebauch, Palmer Ridge High School
Caroline Keil, Lake Forest High School
Judah Mallette, Chicago Hope Academy
Connor Shields, St. Francis High School
Chelsea Tzau, Lake Forest High School

2021 #65 Honor Roll:
Griffin Baker, Crystal Lake South High School
Joey Fortner, Marist High School
Luke Granzow, Hobart High School
Jason Hicks, Stevenson High School
Walker Himebauch, Palmer Ridge High School
Kate Kaptrosky, Lake Forest High School
Carson Kuligowski, St. Charles North High School
TJ McMillen, St. Francis High School
William Meyer, Lake Forest High School
Ella Mickey, Lake Forest High School
Ryan Porebski, William Howard Taft High School
Konnor Thompkins, King College Prep High School
Tommy VanSickle, Antioch High School
Owen Walter, Prospect High School

2019 #65 Honor Roll:
Charlie Aberle, Lake Forest High School
Gustavo Azevedo, Waubonsie Valley High School
Anthony Calderon, Kennedy High School
Chris Clarke, Lyons Township High School
Reilly Corken, Batavia High School
Reggie Davis, King High School
Thomas Dvorak, Fenwick High School
Matt Fell, St. Charles North High School
Will Halkyard, Glenbard West High School
Christopher Kelly, Loyola Academy High School
Myron Lewis, St. Laurence High School
AJ Markett, Marist High School
Robert Meyer-Shaffer, Antioch Community High School
Peter Skoronski, Maine South High School

Looking for more ways to engage with our mission? Learn about additional fundraising events at Bernie’s Book Bank.